moed

Contributor: Eric Moed

Creative Discipline: Architecture

Location: Brooklyn, New York

______________________________

A conversation can start in a number of ways. It can be random or it can be a calculated rendezvous. An unlikely place such as an overcrowded subway forces you to become face to face with a nearby stranger. This situation is sure to present the opportunity for an exchange to take place, perhaps enlightening both parties involved, not to mention the person standing on the fringe of the conversation listening.  The weather is another great conversation starter – pouring rain can bring persons under the same random doorway to keep dry. This can then put in place the  “shitty weather, huh?” remark.

These chance situations all bring people closer, and give the oppurtunity to share a bit of conversation if even for a short while. Eric Moed is the guy that you want to run into in this manner. He walks with a casual swagger, and has the ability to strike up an interesting conversation about nearly anything and everything. I have had some great conversations with Eric at the wee hours of the night about the past, future and our random travels that seem to never end. Eric has the gusto and has some big plans ahead of him.Check out what Eric has to say.

-Dave Irwin, creator / contributor

______________________________

ME

My name is Eric Moed. Although I was born locally [New York], I was afforded opportunities to live abroad and travel throughout Europe, Asia and South America for a number of reasons and purposes. This impacted me throughout my upbringing and continues to have a lasting effect on the daily. After living in Paris, France for two-years at an impressionable age, and taking a gap year in Israel before Pratt to travel, perform community service and study, I was able to appreciate the lack of physical, and all the more so cultural, boundaries from country to country and culture to culture. Being shown the wide open framework of human connectivity and conception and living amongst different cultures, each with different conceptions and alternative perspectives, has deeply impacted my perception at all levels.

Untitled, Mixed Media 2009

Untitled, Mixed Media 2009

As important and essential as the inspiration I find in the films, texts, and drawings which I immerse myself in is, three other things stand out on another plane of inspiration. The first; music- an essential part of my everyday, the hype, artwork and lore that surround it are intriguing, however, there is nothing like finding a [new] song to inspire and motivate, as we all know. The second; frequently unplanned and deliberate adventures both day and night [read: urban grilling], that serve to disconnect me from reality only to strengthen an overall union of the time now and the state of mind I find myself in. The third; people and things from two-generations prior. Why? Because there is nothing like making a name for yourself [as many of our grandparents did] and on a supplemental level, the things, objects, that were made within the 20’s and all the way through the 60’s & 70’s have a lifetime that could well outlive their owners. This is not purely nostalgic; as designers, many of us are curious as to how things are crafted, arranged and produced, and I choose to focus on the “things” within the time mentioned above [more so than not]. And this, precisely, is why I love my current location i.e. Brooklyn, a fascinating urban environment going through constant change, that still manages to maintain its rich past.

ARCHITECTURE

Creativity may be the backbone of architecture; however, I always viewed creativity as a malleable quality. A quality, and not simply an act, meant for one to not only be creative but rather to apply creativity to provide resolution, solution and meaning. While substance and practicality are core elements of any project, meaning and surprise are the hardest things to achieve. As LeCorbusier once said “You have to be talented to make a good project, but a genius to write a good program.” By maintaining a sense of reality when delving into the theoretical, as not to take the virtual or conceptual to such a level that it trumps primary simple and valuable ideas, one can achieve complexity. Mike Archer, a fellow student at Pratt once said something to me in my first semester [of my first year] at Pratt that has resonated with me up to this very date. “To achieve something complex one must start out simply and add layers; i.e. “Keep It Simple Stupid,” as my architect grandfather Leon always tells me.

Graduate Housing, perspective rendering  Fall2009

JSU, perspective rendering  2009

ACTION

I am currently working on building both physical and virtual projects, chiefly a blog, a feeder for my work [ericmoed.wordpress.com]. I’m undertaking the building of a table, using a found [and semi-broken] 50” flat screen television that incorporates visuals and audio; through highjacking the sound- the speakers can now be hooked up to an iPod. Additionally, I am working on a site for Pratt Architecture’s Writing Department, called Double Operative, which showcases the connection and link between students writing, built work, spoken word, films, and imagery. This project is very important to me as writing is a very integral part of my design-process. I also feel it is an oft-overlooked part of many other architects process and progression as it stimulates thoughts that one would not be able to achieve based solely on imagery. I have attached one recent writing on Tradition and the Individual Talent which I composed a couple of days ago. My first built work is underway and i am, simply put, hugely excited about it! The space, designed for the Pratt JSU [Jewish Student Union] is a multi-purpose Art Gallery, Prayer Space and Living/Dining Room on Myrtle Avenue in a building across the street from the Pratt store [not that i am associating with said building, snark snark]. Most recently I just landed a job designing a beer companies’ branding, a project very close to my heart if you know what I mean.. With all of that being said, look out for bottles, web stuffs, and tables.. maybe I’ll find a way to incorporate all three one of these days.

I hope to keep a whimsical and human perspective through it all and to always craft an experience that enables people to both interact maximally, and get their own space whenever necessary. To be clear- I’m not speaking of anything Utopian, that would be super naive, rather I am just trying to arrive at something that provides a meaningful experience for a user, and maybe even one full of the surprise and excitement that I get out of making it.

Finalizer, laser etched acrylic panel  Fall2009

2 responses to “moed

  1. Eric, you are the coolest thing since sliced bread. Didn’t know you lived in Paris- makes you that much cooler! Cool Cool Cool Cool COOL

Leave a Reply

